Liga Layar Malaysia untuk litar Port Dickson juga telah berlangsung dengan jayanya bertempat di Admiral Marina Cove Port Dickson.

Artikel berikut adalah suntingan dari laman web Asian yachting. Terima kasih kepada Capt Marty atas usaha beliau memperkembangkan sukan pelayaran di asia khasnya di Malaysia

Masyuri triumphs in PD, Koo is overall Liga Layar Malaysia champion
Port Dickson (October 12): Mohd Masyuri Rahmat, skipper of RMNMRT/151(ONESAILS) Racing Team had emerged victorious at the sixth edition of Liga Layar Malaysia (LLM) here today, finally beating close rival Jeremy Koo of Sime Darby Foundation – Koo Racing Team. “Finally we managed to beat Jeremy, I was really happy with the way my team performed today,” said Masyuri after the races ended. However, Koo and his team emerged as the overall LLM champions with a total of 46 points, pipping Masyuri by five points for the title.

In the petit finals meanwhile, Nik Ashraf Qaedi Nik Azizan led his KFC/MYA Racing Team to win against good friend Hazwan Hazim Dermawan, who skippered the Perak Match Racing Team, to finish third. Qaedi also ended in third spot in the overall rankings with 36 points.

Minister of Youth & Sports Malaysia YB Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar was present to give away the prizes where Masyuri and his navy team walked away with RM6,000 in cash. Koo and Qaedi respectively received RM4,000 and RM3,000.

Hazim in fourth and Khairulnizam Mohd Afendy of team MYA/UiTM in fifth places each received RM1,000. Muhammad Shaiful Bakhtiar Shariff of SPA/JKR Sailing Team, Mohd Faizal Norizan, at the helm of team MYA/MSN and Nurul Elia Anuar with her MY Angels team rounded up the standings in sixth, seventh and eighth, respectively.

As overall champions, Koo received a medal, a car sponsored by KIA as well as a trophy. He was also announced as the skipper of the 1Malaysia Match Racing Team A which will represent the country at the Monsoon Cup. Along with a second team – 1Malaysia Match Racing Team B – Koo and his crew will be trained by Graeme Spence, the newly-appointed coach for match racing.

“We will train harder now with the new coach, and try our best to perform well together,” said Koo after the announcement.

The new teams will train and sail together with the first on-water session next week. They will make their debuts at the next LLM round in Pulau Duyong, Terengganu.

Final standings of LLM Port Dickson
Champion: Masyuri Rahmat (RMNMRT/151(ONESAILS) Racing Team)
Runner-up: Jeremy Koo (Sime Darby Foundation – KRT)
Third: Nik Ashraf Qaedi (KFC/MYA RT)
Fourth: Hazwan Hazim (Perak Match Racing Team)
Fifth: Khairulnizam Mohd Afendy (MYA/UiTM)
Sixth: Shaiful Bakhtiar (SPA/JKR Sailing Team)
Seventh: Mohd Faizal Norizan (MYA/MSN)
Eighth: Nurul Elia (MY Angels)

Final standings overall
Jeremy Koo (Sime Darby Foundation – KRT) – 46 points
Masyuri Rahmat (RMNMRT/151(ONESAILS) Racing Team) – 41 points
Nik Ashraf Qaedi (KFC/MYA RT) – 36 points
Shaiful Bakhtiar (SPA/JKR Sailing Team) – 19 points
Khairulnizam Mohd Afendy (MYA/UiTM) – 18 points
Mohd Faizal Norizan (MYA/MSN) – 14 points
Rizal Mahadi Sazili (RSYC/Setiawest) – 14 points
Hazwan Hazim (Perak Match Racing Team) – 5 points
Mohd Saifullah (MSNT Sailing Team) 4 points
Megat Ahmad Aslam (PUTRAJAYA Sailing Team) – 4 points

Nurul Elia (MY Angels) – 2 points